Indian History MCQ Set-14

Modern Indian History MCQ for SSC, UPSC , NDA, State PSC, Railway recruitment examinations, Police recruitment examinations and related government job recruitments examinations by the state governments and the union government of India.

Q.1 In which of the following year, Mahatma Gandhi launched the Non-Cooperation Movement?

A. 1920

B. 1922

C. 1930

D. 1942

Answer: A. 1920

Q.2 The All India People’s conference, formed in 1927 in Bombay; launched movement in which of the following location?

A. Hill Areas

B. Madras Presidency

C. Bombay Presidency

D. Princely states

Note: D. Princely states

Note: The All India People’s conference held in 1927 at Bombay brought together representatives of four hundreds of princely states.

Q.3 Which among the following leaders of Indian independence movement was termed as “Lal Bal Pal”?

A. Lal Bahadur Shastri, Bal Gangadhar Tilak and Bipin Chandra Pal

B. Lala Lajpat Rai, Bal Gangadhar Tilak and Bipin Chandra Pal

C. Lal Bahadur Shastri, Bal Gangadhar Tilak and Kanakarayan Tiruselvam Paul

D. None of these

Answer: B. Lala Lajpat Rai, Bal Gangadhar Tilak and Bipin Chandra Pal

Q.4 During the independence movement, socialism is essentially a movement of:

A. Rich Class

B. Poor Class

C. Middle Class

D. Intellectuals

Answer: C. Middle Class

Q.5 Arrange the following is correct sequence as per date of occurrence:

I. Home Rule League Movement

II. Partition of Bengal

III. Poona Pact

IV. Quit India Movement





Answer: B. II, I, III, IV

Note: Partition of Bengal-1905, Home Rule League Movement-1916, Poona Pact-1932, Quit India Movement-1942.

Q.6 Who among the following was the founder of the Wahabi Movement?

A. Muhammad Iqbal

B. Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad

C. Sayyid Ahmed

D. Bismil Azimabadi

Answer: C. Sayyid Ahmed

Note: The Wahabi movement was a revivalist movement which tried to purify Islam by eliminating all the un-Islamic practices which had crept into Muslim society through the ages. It offered the most serious and well-planned challenge to British supremacy in India from 1830’s to 1860’s.

Q.7 As per the Act of Indian Independence, the boundary of East Bengal, West Bengal and Assam was decided by:

A. Muslim League

B. Indian National Congress

C. Bengal Boundary Commission

D. People living in these areas

Answer: C. Bengal Boundary Commission

Note: As per the Act of Indian Independence, two boundary commission under the chairmanship of Cyril John Radcliffe was formed. The Bengal Boundary Commission consisted of justices C. C. Biswas, B. K. Mukherji, Abu Saleh Mohamed Akram & S.A.Rahman and the Punjab Boundary Commission consisted of justices Mehr Chand Mahajan, Teja Singh, Din Mohamed and Muhammad Munir.

Q.8 Govind Dhondu Pant, popularly known as Nana Saheb and one of the leader of 1857 revolt as the adopted heir and success of:

A. Peshwa Baji Rao II

B. King of Jhansi

C. Gaikwad of Baroda

D. None of these

Answer: A. Peshwa Baji Rao II

Q.9 Which of the following incident led to Swadeshi Movement in Bengal in 1905?

A. Partition of Bengal

B. Passing of permanent settlement act

C. Death of Swami Vivekananda

D. None of these

Answer: A. Partition of Bengal

Q.10 For which of the following reason, villagers gathered at the Bagh of Jallianwala on 13th April, 1919?

I. To celebrate Hindu & Sikh festivel Baisakhi

II. To protest peacefully for arrest and deportation of Satyapal and Saifuddin Kitchlew

III. To threat British Army by showing power of villagers

A. Only I

B. Only II

C. Both I & II

D. I, II, & II

Answer: C. Both I & II

List of Indian History MCQ Sets